Feminasty

In Feminasty -- titled after her nickname on the hit podcast "Throwing Shade" -- she has written a collection of make-you-laugh-until-you-cry essays that expose the hidden rules that make life as a woman unnecessarily hard and deconstructs ...

Feminasty

Feminasty

From the wickedly funny and feminist creator and host of the Throwing Shade podcast, a collection of hilarious personal essays and political commentary perfect for fans of Lindy West and Roxane Gay. Since women earned the right to vote a little under one hundred years ago, our progress hasn't been the Olympic sprint toward gender equality first wave feminists hoped for, but more of a slow, elderly mall walk (with frequent stops to Cinnabon) over the four hundred million hurdles we still face. Some of these obstacles are obvious-unequal pay, under-representation in government, reproductive restrictions, lack of floor-length mirrors in hotel rooms. But a lot of them are harder to identify. They're the white noise of oppression that we've accepted as lady business as usual, and the patriarchy wants to keep it that way. Erin Gibson has a singular goal-to create a utopian future where women are recognized as humans. In Feminasty -- titled after her nickname on the hit podcast "Throwing Shade" -- she has written a collection of make-you-laugh-until-you-cry essays that expose the hidden rules that make life as a woman unnecessarily hard and deconstructs them in a way that's bold, provocative and hilarious. Whether it's shaming women for having their periods, allowing them into STEM fields but never treating them like they truly belong, or dictating strict rules for how they should dress in every situation, Erin breaks down the organized chaos of old fashioned sexism, intentional and otherwise, that systemically keeps women down.

More Books:

Feminasty
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Erin Gibson
Categories: Humor
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-09-04 - Publisher: Hachette UK

From the wickedly funny and feminist creator and host of the Throwing Shade podcast, a collection of hilarious personal essays and political commentary perfect for fans of Lindy West and Roxane Gay. Since women earned the right to vote a little under one hundred years ago, our progress hasn't been
Asking for It
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Kate Harding
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-08-25 - Publisher: Hachette UK

In the era of #metoo, a clear-eyed, sharp look at rape culture, sexual assault, harassment and violence against women--and what we can do about it. "A timely and brilliant book." (Jessica Valenti) Every seven minutes, someone in America commits a rape. And whether that's a football star, beloved celebrity, elected
Meg Cabot
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: EPUB 2-3
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-11-08 - Publisher: Infobase Learning

CHBiographies
Good Girl Bad World
Language: en
Pages: 114
Authors: Alexis Bloomer
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-11-09 - Publisher: Archway Publishing

Do you worry about not fitting in with others your age? Are you the victim of bullying because you believe in different things or look differently than others? Does your uniqueness leave you feeling lonely, friendless, and hopeless? In her book, Good Girl, Bad World, author Alexis Bloomer shows that
Flags Out Front
Language: en
Pages: 206
Authors: Douglas Wilson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-04-25 - Publisher: Canon Press & Book Service

Readers of PG Wodehouse's Leave It to Psmith and Christopher Buckley's Thank You for Smoking will appreciate this lighthearted new satirical novel from the award-winning author of Evangellyfish (Best Fiction of 2012, Christianity Today). Tom Collins, mild-mannered president of a dwindling southern Bible college, becomes a target when a drunk

Popular All Time

The Endless Web
Just Mercy
The New Jim Crow
The Glycemic-Load Diet Cookbook: 150 Recipes to Help You Lose Weight and Reverse Insulin Resistance
Pale Fire Study Guide
National Certified Medical Assistant Exam Secrets Study Guide
Fish Farming In Your Backyard
Mucusless Diet Healing System
Fashion and Cultural Studies
Rational Fasting
College Admissions During COVID
AAA How to Drive
The Elements of Style, Fourth Edition
The Brain's Way of Healing
Consider This
The Mindbody Prescription
The White Coat Investor
A Student's Guide to the Study of Law

Recent Books: