Design for Hackers

This book is aimed at hackers of all skill levels and explains the classical principles and techniques behind beautiful designs by deconstructing those designs in order to understand what makes them so remarkable.

Design for Hackers

Design for Hackers

Discover the techniques behind beautiful design by deconstructing designs to understand them The term 'hacker' has been redefined to consist of anyone who has an insatiable curiosity as to how things work—and how they can try to make them better. This book is aimed at hackers of all skill levels and explains the classical principles and techniques behind beautiful designs by deconstructing those designs in order to understand what makes them so remarkable. Author and designer David Kadavy provides you with the framework for understanding good design and places a special emphasis on interactive mediums. You'll explore color theory, the role of proportion and geometry in design, and the relationship between medium and form. Packed with unique reverse engineering design examples, this book inspires and encourages you to discover and create new beauty in a variety of formats. Breaks down and studies the classical principles and techniques behind the creation of beautiful design Illustrates cultural and contextual considerations in communicating to a specific audience Discusses why design is important, the purpose of design, the various constraints of design, and how today's fonts are designed with the screen in mind Dissects the elements of color, size, scale, proportion, medium, and form Features a unique range of examples, including the graffiti in the ancient city of Pompeii, the lack of the color black in Monet's art, the style and sleekness of the iPhone, and more By the end of this book, you'll be able to apply the featured design principles to your own web designs, mobile apps, or other digital work.

More Books:

Design for Hackers
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: David Kadavy
Categories: Computers
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-08-08 - Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

Discover the techniques behind beautiful design by deconstructing designs to understand them The term 'hacker' has been redefined to consist of anyone who has an insatiable curiosity as to how things work—and how they can try to make them better. This book is aimed at hackers of all skill levels
Doctor Ecco's Cyberpuzzles: 36 Puzzles for Hackers and Other Mathematical Detectives
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Dennis E. Shasha
Categories: Computers
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004-02-17 - Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

"Dennis Shasha is the absolute best puzzle writer alive."—David Gelernter, professor of computer science, Yale University In the tradition of Sherlock Holmes, Dr. Ecco is one of the greatest sleuths of our time, a mathematical wizard who uses logic and computer programming to solve crimes, find treasures, and explore space.
WordPress Web Design For Dummies
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Lisa Sabin-Wilson
Categories: Computers
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-05-12 - Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

Books about WordPress Web Design For Dummies
Reverse Engineering: Mechanisms, Structures, Systems & Materials
Language: en
Pages: 448
Authors: Robert Messler
Categories: Technology & Engineering
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-11-22 - Publisher: McGraw Hill Professional

A comprehensive look at reverse engineering as a legitimate learning, design, and troubleshooting tool This unique book examines the often underappreciated and occasionally maligned technique of reverse engineering. More than a shortcut for the lazy or unimaginative to reproduce an artless copy of an existing creation, reverse engineering is an
Design for Sports
Language: en
Pages: 111
Authors: Cooper-Hewitt Museum
Categories: Design
Type: BOOK - Published: 1998 - Publisher: Princeton Architectural Press

Sports shoes - Mountain bikes - Women in sport.

Popular All Time

In Patagonia
Into the Wild
A Walk in the Woods
Into Thin Air
Dubai Travel Guide, United Arab Emirates: Honeymoon Travel, Vacation, Business Tour, Shopping
Pardon My French
Rick Steves Belgium: Bruges, Brussels, Antwerp & Ghent
Maui Revealed
Riding the Iron Rooster
Travels with Charley in Search of America
Dispatches from Pluto
Maui Confidential (2014)
The Travels of William Bartram
Hamburger America
Truck de India!
羅府テレフォンガイド ロサンゼルスの日系イエローページ
Thailand Crackers
羅府テレ別冊 ロサンゼルスで暮らそう 短期滞在編 2015年度版

Recent Books: